Recipes · Snack Bites · Sweet Treats

Homemade Toster Treats

What could be better than an iconic childhood treat: Poptarts? Well I have an answer: the homemade version! Although I’m not best friends with store bought Poptarts (mainly because they are so, so sweet), I am a huge fan of the homemade version!

My inspiration for these is simple: I needed to use up my left overs. I had just finished making savory pies and I had small amounts of pie dough left over. If you haven’t seen my pie dough recipe, I’ll link it here! I had a surplus of jam and pie dough and what could be better than homemade toaster pastries?

The best part about these toaster treats is that they are completely customizable. There are infinitely many different combinations of fillings and frosting! So take this opportunity to really make this recipe yours and be creative with it!

But first, a few notes:

  1. I have different variations of these treats but the following recipe will be made with pie dough. I will share my other versions in another post.
  2. The following will be filled with blueberry and raspberry jam and (although not in the pictures) topped with homemade lemon curd, but honestly there are so, so many possibilities!
  3. There is NO SHAME in buying pre-made pie dough. Not everyone has the time to make fresh, pie dough from scratch. If you want a fun and fast treat, go buy some frozen, rolled out pie dough (it’ll save you some time too) and grab your favorite jar of jam and you’re ready to go!

So here’s my quick recipe for homemade toaster treats. I hope you enjoy!

Let’s Get Started!

Homemade Toaster Pastries

  • Servings: about 3-4 pastries
  • Time: 20-25 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A homemade version of a childhood favorite. This is super quick and easy recipe that tastes indulgence.

Ingredients

  • Pie Dough, enough for one filled 9 inch pie dishes
  • Jam for the filling
  • 1 egg beaten

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to about 375 degrees F.
  2. If your pie dough isn’t already rolled out, please do so. you want the pie dough to be roughly 1/4th of an inch thick.
    I like my pie dough to be a little thinner than that.
  3. Now looking at your pie dough, decide how large you want your treats to be. Mine were roughly 3×4 inches.
    Your little toaster pastries don’t have to be perfectly rectangular. I can’t roll out perfect rectangles of pie dough, so what I did is fold the large pie dough in half, and press on the fold a little to create a seam. Then using a knife, I cut, following that seam. Now there are 2 even halves of dough. Then I cut the dough in the other direction (a 90 degree rotation), for about 3 even slices.
  4. Now with your dough laid out in front of you and you have it’s matching pair. Brush some beaten egg on one of the matched pairs.
  5. Take your filling/jam and fill the toaster treats.
    For mine, I added about 2 tablespoons of jam. The amount of filling is up to you, but I would leave about a centimeter or two away from the edge to ensure that the pastry won’t burst in the oven, and to ensure a great seal.
  6. Take the other piece of the matched dough pairs, and lay it on top of the filling, matching up your edges. Press lightly along the boarder to ensure a seal.
  7. take a fork and crimp the edges of your pastry. Press the fork along the edge to ensure a nice seal.
  8. cut a couple slits in the top of the pastry to allow steam to escape while baking.
  9. Repeat steps 4-8 for the rest of your dough pieces.
  10. Place the treats on a baking pan if you haven’t already done so, and brush the top with some more beaten egg.
  11. Bake at 375 deg F for about 20-25 mins. This will vary with how thick, how big your treats are, and your oven. But around the 20 min mark, you should keep an eye for a nice golden brown color. After that you can take it out of the oven.

And there you go! Quick and easy homemade toaster treats/mini homemade pies! My directions may seem long, but it’s because I want to try my best to be clear. So I hope you enjoyed and I hope that you have fun creating your own combinations!

Leave a Reply

