Basics · Recipes · Snack Bites

Simple Pico de Gallo

Hello and Welcome to my first blog post! Let’s start off this blog with a super simple recipe: Pico de Gallo. Yes, there are SO many recipes out there for Pico de Gallo, but let me share what I do whenever I crave fresh pico.

img_20170225_132527_041

Now to remind you, I am NOT a professional chef or cook by any means. I love to create in the kitchen and I love to get creative. My hopes is to inspire you do create and to put your own spin to this simple recipe.

Let’s get to it!

Simple Pico de Gallo

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 30mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A crisp, fresh, and light side to brighten any meal.

 

Ingredients

  • 5 on-the-vine tomatoes
    (really any tomato is a good tomato, I just happen to have on-the-vine tomatoes on hand)
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic, minced
    (now if you’re not a big fan of raw garlic, you can toast them on the skillet, or you can use less garlic. I personally LOVE garlic.)
  • 3 Jalapeno peppers
  • 1/2 a bell pepper
    (or 1 small bell pepper)
  • 1/2 a medium red onion
    (I love using red onions, but really any onion would do. note red onions do have a sharper taste when raw)
  • 1/2 a bunch of cilantro
  • 1 – 2 limes
    (depending on how acidic you prefer your pico)
  • salt, pepper, dash of sugar

Directions

  1. Cube your tomatoes
  2. Dice your onions and bell peppers
  3. Chop your cilantro.
    I like my cilantro chopped finely.
  4. For SPICY pico de gallo, dice all your jalapenos
    1. For less spicy, cut and trim all but 1 jalapenos. Cut out the white insides and the seeds, and give the trimmed peppers (knife and cutting board) a quick rinse with water. Continue to dice the trimmed peppers and leave aside. For a kick, leave a jalapeno untrimmed and just dice it up.
    2. For mild pico, trim and de-seed all jalapenos. Rinse your jalapenos, cutting board, and knife under water and continue to dice your jalapenos.
  5. Now combine your tomatoes, onions, bell peppers, jalapenos, garlic, and cilantro and give everything a good mix.
  6. Cut your limes in half and squeeze the fresh juice over the fresh mix of vegetables. Give everything a good toss.
  7. Now you can season to your liking. I personally add salt, black pepper, and a dash of sugar to my pico and call it done.
    (Sometimes I like to add just a dash of cumin if I’m feeling special.)
  8. You’re done! Enjoy your fresh pico de gallo! Personally, I love my pico de gallo even more after it has sat in the fridge for a day or two. The longer it sits, the more the flavors get to develop.

I hope that you get a chance to give this a try, and modify it to your own liking and preferences. I personally love eating fresh pico de gallo with fish tacos, or just with some tortilla chips. It’s just so wonderfully fresh and bright, but flavorful. Remember to have fun, cook with love, and be inspired!

Leave a Reply

